Em-eye-ess-ess-eye-ess-ess-eye-pee-pee-eye

image

Friday, July 7th. We have crossed the Mississippi! I am writing tonight from the road. We are pulling a late night in an attempt to make it to Madison, WI.

image

I like this state so far. There are trees again, and I was able to order the first mixed greens salad I’ve had since we crossed the Cascades.
The countryside is beginning to look like what I am familiar with on the east coast. The gas stations offer a selection of bruised fruit here, which is significantly better than no fruit. The rest stops have recycle bins too!

image

image

South Dakota was less flat than I remembered it. There was less corn than I remembered also. There was still an epic amount of corn mind you, but I did not experience the same awe at the sheer quantity of it this time. Another feature I don’t remember from last time is the windmills. They lined the highway for much of Minnesota. Dustin has also requested I note the poor quality of Minnesota’s portion of I90.

image

image

image

image

The animals are over this traveling business. The cats would not stop growling and hissing in the tent last night. Marie tried to claw her way out of the tent starting around three thirty in the morning and had to be confined, at which point she howled bitterly. The air mattress definitely has a leak. It was a short night with little rest.

image

Dustin and I are ready to be done as well. Google maps says it is just over 800 miles from Madison to Boyds. At our speed of 50 miles per hour, that might possibly be done in one very long day. We are tempted to try.

image

2 thoughts on “Em-eye-ess-ess-eye-ess-ess-eye-pee-pee-eye

Leave a Reply

