My Visit to Owl Moon

While staying with my parents at their house in Boyds I have been conscripted to help with Owl Moon, my mother’s raptor rehabilitation center.

Owl Moon Raptor Center

Hello, Natasha here!

I am currently visiting my parents and Owl Moon Raptor Center at their home in Boyds. As some of you may know from my blog, I am in the process of moving from Seattle, WA, to New Brunswick, NJ with my husband, Dustin. We have been staying in Boyds for a few weeks while we search for a new apartment.

Suzanne, my mother, wasted no time in putting me to work helping with the raptors. Since I have been here I have helped her administer medications and fluids to several patients, driven two birds to Tri-State Bird Rescue and Research Center in Newark, DE, and sewn protective mosquito-net curtains for the outdoor mews to keep the birds safe from West Nile Virus, not to mention writing this blog!

One of the birds I drove to Tri-State was Sonya, the female Cooper’s hawk that was injured in…

View original post 528 more words

2 thoughts on “My Visit to Owl Moon

  1. Hi:
    I am an avid birder, living in Pasadena, Md. with 7 bird feeders going at this time. About 2 weeks ago I heard 2 owls around my area, never heard any before. I have lost many of my favorite regular visitors to predators birds. I am upset to now know there are now owls about and now will possible lose more.

  2. Hi Virginia,
    I wasn’t initially sure how to respond to your comment, so I asked my mom, Suzanne Shoemaker, the director of Owl Moon Raptor Center how she would address the concerns you raise. Her message is below. Thank you for taking the time to read and respond to my post!

    Best,
    Natasha

    From Suzanne at Owl Moon Raptor Center:

    I understand your concern. While owls are predators, they are nocturnal, and therefore hunt at night. As nocturnal predators, they are far less of a threat to the birds that visit your feeders than the hawks. I do not expect the owls you are hearing will present any significant threat to your songbird population. Both owls and hawks hunt a wide variety of prey, which includes mainly rodents and rabbits, but also reptiles, amphibians, and some birds.

    Cooper’s Hawks are primarily birds hunters and it is they that have probably taken birds that visit your feeders. It is sad to bear witness when you grow attached to your feeder visitors, but as an avid birder, I hope that you can appreciate that predatory birds need to eat too, and accept some loss. Naturally bird feeders attract Cooper’s Hawks just as they attract songbirds, due to the concentration of prey they bring in.

    Thank you for your interest in birds, and for taking the time to investigate your concerns regarding the owls that share your your neighborhood. I hope now you can enjoy your owls visitors, just as you enjoy your songbirds!

    Sincerely,

    Suzanne Shoemaker

Leave a Reply

