The Road: A Tale of Chivalry and Blocks

This is my midterm project for Motion Graphics 2. The assignment was to animate a poem using still images and sound.

Process

I chose a poem from J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. I used only the first verse. The whole text is available here. I  photographed each scene using Lego and other models, then cut the images into 3D space using Adobe Photoshop. In some cases I layered multiple photographs together.

I animated the sequence in Adobe AfterEffects. The music is borrowed from Ugly Casanova’s “Here’s to Now,” with additional sound clips from freesound.org.

Leave a Reply

