Mixed Reality Pterodactyl Toy

This is a prototype for a mixed reality toy that I created for my Physical Computing class at Parsons. For this assignment I had one week to create whatever I wanted. The inspiration for this piece came from an earlier project, Playtop. For Playtop my group and I created a series of animations that are triggered when a toy is set on the play surface. In this project I wanted to experiment which creating an animation that responded dynamically to a toy.

The pterodactyl contains an Arduino and an accelerometer. It communicates with Processing using bluetooth. This prototype is still rough. I hope to revisit this idea again soon using a gyroscope instead of the accelerometer in the toy, and Unity instead of Processing for the animation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

